AGS Announces Journalism Award Winners

July 27, 2006

AGS Announces Journalism Award Winners

The American Gem Society (AGS) has announced the winners for the 2006 American Gem Society Richard T. Liddicoat Journalism Awards, which honor journalists who have made exceptional contributions to the understanding of gemology, as well as to the American Gem Society ideals of ethics, education and consumer protection.

The award recipients are as follows:

  • Consumer National Reporting - "Green Dreams" by Cynthia Zarin of The New Yorker
  • Consumer Regional Reporting - "Essential Elements" by Carole Schrock of The Star Newspapers
  • Industry/Trade Reporting - "A Review of the Political & Economic Forces Shaping Today's Diamond Industry" by Russell Shor of Gems & Gemology
The awards will be presented at the AGS Circle of Distinction Dinner on Aug. 1 at the Rainbow Room in Rockefeller Center during the Jewelers of America New York Show (JANY). Each recipient will receive a check for $1,500 and a crystal plaque. AGS will also donate $1,000 to the Richard T. Liddicoat Scholarship Fund at the Gemological Institute of America in the name of each winner.

The award's 2006 judges, chosen from the nation's top journalism schools, included Glen T. Cameron, Ph.D., Maxine Wilson Gregory Chair in Journalism at the University of Missouri School of Journalism; Quint Randle, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Print Journalism at Brigham Young University; and David L. Nelson, Chair Newspaper Department and Associate Professor at Medill School of Journalism of Northwestern University.

Sign me up for